What Is Not Vegan

What foods are not vegan?

Any animal-derived food, such as

  • meat or organs from cows, lambs, pigs, poultry, fish, or any other animal
  • products like eggs, mayonnaise, gelatin
  • dairy products such as ice cream, cheese, butter, yogurt
  • and bee products such as honey, bee pollen, royal jelly, and so on.

Vegans cannot eat anything from a non-human living being with a nervous system, eyes, mouth, ears, or nose.

Sea creatures are animals too. So yeah, not vegan.

What to avoid as a vegan?

NON-VEGAN FOOD INGREDIENTS

  • beeswax – wax secreted by bees to make honeycombs
  • casein – milk protein
  • castoreum – anal secretion from beavers
  • cochineal/carmine – or crushed bugs/beetles
  • gelatin – obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones of animals
  • honey – bee vomit
  • isinglass – derived from fish bladders
  • lactic acid – can be animal-derived
  • lactose – a sugar present in milk
  • lanolin – sheep grease
  • lard – pig fat
  • l.cysteine – can be animal derived
  • natural flavorings – can be animal derived
  • oleic acid/oleinic acid – can be made from animal fat
  • omega 3 – most comes from fish
  • shellac – secretion of a female bug
  • tallow – animal fat
  • vitamin D3 – can be derived from sheep’s wool
  • whey – watery part of milk that remains after the formation of curds

Furthermore, some, if not the majority, of vegans do not consume foods prepared in the same equipment as non-vegan foods. For example, some restaurants use the same oil and deep fryer for plant-based and meat-based foods.

However, being vegan is more than just a dietary choice. It is a way of life that excludes animals as well.

NON-VEGAN SKINCARE AND COSMETICS INGREDIENTS

  • beeswax or cera alba
  • casein or milk protein
  • carmine or cochineal
  • collagen
  • elastin
  • estrogen
  • gelatin
  • glucosamine
  • glycerine
  • guanine
  • honey or mel
  • hyaluronic acid
  • keratin
  • lactose
  • lanolin
  • lecithin
  • oleic acid
  • panthenol
  • perfume
  • propolis
  • retinol
  • shellac
  • silk protein or silk extract
  • squalene or squalane
  • stearin or stearic acid

WHAT CAN VEGANS NOT HAVE?

Any clothing and accessory with or made from:

  • down
  • feather
  • fur
  • leather
  • silk
  • wool


Now that you have a list of essential things vegans should avoid, here’s a list of plant-based foods you should eat instead. 

You may be curious as to why I became vegan and why you should as well.

Want to learn how to start going vegan? Do you need help in transitioning? Leave a comment below or send us a message.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.